Board Leadership

NAMI Dane County is governed by an active 11-member volunteer Board of Directors that includes people living with mental illness, family members, mental health professionals, and educators. The board is responsible for setting the budget and priorities of NAMI Dane County as well as developing the organization’s strategic plan.

From left to right: John Vander Meer, Sue Petkovsek, Kristen Brey, Brett Wilfrid, Ben Van Pelt
The Board and I are excited to dream big, to expand the size and scope of NAMI Dane County’s reach, and to honor the legacy of the founding chapter of an amazing national organization.
— Brett Wilfrid, President


Brett Wilfrid, President (Principal, Sandburg Elementary School)
Scott Strong, Vice President (Executive Director, RISE)
Kristen Brey, Secretary (Assistant Director of Community Impact, United Way)
David Bolles, Treasurer (Defense Lawyer, Bolles Law Office)
Donna Ulteig, Past President (Psychotherapist, Psychiatric Services)


Ben Van Pelt (Government Relations Director, American Heart Association)
Ron Diamond, M.D. (Retired psychiatrist)
Kristen Esbensen (Psychotherapist, Psychiatric Services)
Dr. Diane Gooding (Professor, UW-Madison Dept. of Psychology)
Anna Moffit (Parent Peer Specialist, Wisconsin Family Ties)
Matt Shaw (Community Police Officer, UW-Madison Police Department)


2016-2018 Strategic Plan                Bylaws


The minutes from meetings of the Board of Directors are made publicly available to ensure transparency.